Leaving the University and UARK Account Expiration

When you leave the university, your UARK account will be deleted and you will no longer be able to access UAConnect, Blackboard Learn, campus Wi-Fi, computer labs, Office 365, or other university services. All email, personal websites and saved files will be purged. University-licensed software must be removed from your personal devices.

Student UARK accounts

A student's UARK account is active for two years after the end of the last term for which they were enrolled and attending classes. For example, if a student leaves in the fall semester, they can access their account until the end of the fall semester two years later. All accounts are purged 30 days after they are expired/locked. When the account is purged, all emails and files saved to OneDrive or other cloud services through the university are deleted and unrecoverable. 

After the end of the last term for which they are enrolled, the student becomes a previous student affiliate for two years. If they have a balance after the end of their previous student affiliation, they become Treasurer Office affiliates so that the student can access UAConnect to make payments. After any balance is paid, and there are no other associations (e.g. student, employee, applicant) then the account will be subject to the 70-day expiration date. The user will receive notifications 30 and 45 days after their last date of association. This does not apply to graduates who continue to enroll each semester.

As long as the user starts as a student and as long as they are associated with the university, they maintain the student role in UAConnect. The student role remains in UAConnect even after their UARK account is expired, so they should retain all student access (except the ability to register for classes) until their UARK account is expired. Roles in password manager (e.g. Student, Affiliate, etc.) do not affect UAConnect access. 

Request a student UARK account extension

If a student needs to keep a UARK account active for research or other university related academic activities, they will need to be sponsored as an academic affiliate through the Dean's Office of their academic department or reapply to the university.

Student accounts are kept for a period of two years after their last term of enrollment. To keep an account active, the student will need to be sponsored as an academic affiliate through the Dean’s Office of their academic department or reapply to the university.

Faculty and staff UARK accounts

When a faculty or staff member's employment ends, the account is purged on the date provided by the supervisor. If a supervisor does not provide the IT Services Security team with a purge date, former faculty and staff receive warning emails 30 and 45 days after the end date of their employment. The account is then blocked after 50 days and deleted on day 77. So, a former employee’s account is only active for 50 days after the last date of employment. At that time, the account is locked, and 30 days later the account will be purged. When an account is purged from our system, all email, personal websites, and saved files will no longer be recoverable. One who is still affiliated with a university department in some way can contact their former department’s Leave Administrator (HR representative) and request to be set you as an affiliate in their system.

Transfer departmental accounts

Ownership of departmental email and phone accounts must be transferred before the previous owner leaves the university. All accounts, including all secondary accounts, will be expired and purged when the primary account of the owner is expired and purged. To transfer ownership of an account, use the Secondary Account Request form. You can select Transfer Secondary Account under Type of Secondary Account Service. 

Retiree/emeritus

Retirees retain their UARK accounts with Outlook access and most of Office365. They cannot use the desktop versions of Office365 apps, only the web versions. Retirees do not retain access to Box. 

Retirees and Emeritus users can contact Human Resources to determine eligibility for maintaining a UARK account.

Affiliate accounts

All affiliate accounts expire on a regular basis. The expiration time depends on what type of affiliate and how the account was set up as the options for keeping an affiliate account depend on the type of affiliate. The affiliate status does have to be renewed for affiliate workers. In order to keep an affiliate account active, the department’s HR person must adjust the begin and end dates as a Contingent Worker in Workday. If the begin and end dates are correct in Workday, ignore any expiration emails. This process is being updated.

Most other affiliates need to contact the dean's office of their college if they are a student or their department's HR representative if they are an employee or former employee. 

Back up your files

After your UARK account is closed, you will no longer have access to your University of Arkansas OneDrive or Box. IT Services recommends backing up your files by saving them to your computer or a personal file storage account.

Make sure to transfer ownership of any work files. Contact the IT Help Desk to retrieve work files owned by a user who is no longer with the university.

OneDrive

Download your files from OneDrive.

Box

Switch your Box account to a personal email address.

Manage your login and address settings.

Back up your email

Set up email forwarding to an external account well in advance of your account being deleted, and instruct your contacts to email your non-UARK address. When your UARK account is deleted, the email forward will no longer work.

Migrating UARK emails to another email account

Print Article

Details

Article ID: 169
Created
Fri 1/26/24 11:54 PM
Modified
Mon 5/20/24 4:12 PM

Related Articles (1)

Your UARK account allows you to securely access university services, including email, campus Wi-Fi, Blackboard, UAConnect, and more.