Reportable IT Projects: How to close a project

Overview

Audience: Project Managers for Reportable IT Projects

These directions are for when a project needs to be closed on TeamDynamix.  A closed project is when all work has been completed and the project details need to be updated in TeamDynamix to reflect this. Closing a project finalizes its status, marks it as inactive, and ensures all related work items are completed or resolved. Close a project when:

  • All project work has been completed
  • Deliverables have been met
  • No additional updates or tasks are required
  • The project is ready for reporting as complete

Before you start

  • Have the Project Manager security role in TeamDynamix
  • Be the assigned Project Manager on the cancelled project
  • Please understand when a project is closed on TeamDynamix it still shows up on reports and it will have a status of inactive and closed

Steps

  1. Open the project ( TDXWorkManagement > View Applications > Projects > select your project)
  2. Select Details, located on the left-menu navigation
  3. Select Actions
  4. Select Close. The Close Project screen will appear. 

    NOTE: In TeamDynamix, both closing and canceling a project start from the same Close Project screen. 

    screenshot of step 2,3, and 4
     
  5. Update the project status by completing these Close Project screen fields:
    1. Select the checkboxes for any unfinished items

      screenshot of step 5 a.
       
    2. Select the Inactive radio button under Choose the closed project status and health

      screenshot of step 5 b
       
    3. In the Status field, choose appropriate completed status:
      • Completed - Exceeded Expectations
      • Completed - Met Expectations
      • Completed - Did Not Meet Expectations
    4. Input Comments
  6. Select Save. If the project will not save, scroll up or down and ensure all required fields are completed. 

What's next

This will update the project status to Closed and sets the project to inactive. If the checkboxes were used in unfinished items they too will be set to inactive or closed. The project Feed will update with the project update details including the Comment. The project will remain accessible to the Project Manager and Resources for reporting and historical reference. 

If a cancelled project needs to be reactivated, this requires administrative access. Please submit a PMO Consultation Request with the project details in order to reactivate the project. 

All updates are automatically included in any Reportable IT Project reports generated after the changes are saved.

Need Help?

Need more information? Check the Related Articles or Related Services sections on this page (side or at the bottom) for additional resources that might help.