Reportable IT Projects: How to cancel a project

Summary

For Project Managers of TeamDynamix projects to cancel projects.

Body

Overview

Audience: Project Managers for Reportable IT Projects

If a project is cancelled, follow these directions for cancelling a project in TeamDynamix.  Use these directions to cancel a project when:

  • the work is no longer needed
  • project direction has changed
  • a different solution or vendor has been selected
  • the project is stopped before completion

Before you start

  • Have the Project Manager security role in TeamDynamix
  • Be the assigned Project Manager on the cancelled project
  • Please understand when a project is cancelled on TeamDynamix it still shows up on reports and it will have a status of inactive and cancelled

Steps

  1. Open the project ( TDXWorkManagement > View Applications > Projects > select your project)
  2. Select Details, located on the left-menu navigation
  3. Select Actions
  4. Select Close. The Close Project screen will appear. 

    NOTE: In TeamDynamix, both closing and canceling a project start from the same Close Project screen. 

    screenshot of step 2,3, and 4
     
  5. Update the project status by completing these Close Project screen fields:
    1. Select the checkboxes for any unfinished items

      screenshot of step 5 a.
       
    2. Select the Inactive radio button under Choose the closed project status and health

      screenshot of step 5 b
       
    3. In the Status field, choose Cancelled
    4. Input a Comment
  6. Select Save. If the project will not save, scroll up or down and ensure all required fields are completed. 

What's next

This will update the project status to Cancelled and sets the project to inactive. If the checkboxes were used in unfinished items they too will be set to inactive or closed. The project Feed will update with the project update details including the Comment. The project will remain accessible to the Project Manager and Resources for reporting and historical reference. 

If a cancelled project needs to be reactivated, this requires administrative access. Please submit a PMO Consultation Request with the project details in order to reactivate the project. 

All updates are automatically included in any Reportable IT Project reports generated after the changes are saved.

Need Help?

Need more information? Check the Related Articles or Related Services sections on this page (side or at the bottom) for additional resources that might help. 

Details

Details

Article ID: 2139
Created
Mon 8/17/26 10:47 AM
Modified
Wed 9/9/26 10:52 AM